Getting back on track 🛤️ P.1

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

Getting back on track 🛤️ P.1

From a soldier back to a programmer. 🪖—>👨‍💻

After I graduated, I had to complete my military service which set me off track for nearly 2 years. This made me outdated, and I almost completely forgot what I learned before.

3 months ago I had finished my military service and I needed a loooong vacation to bring me back to normal life. After that, I kept searching around where should I start, and I listed the problems/difficulties I faced when I was trying to be a self-driving car engineer. My coding skills were okay but not advanced nor my math/statistics background was strong enough to support my understanding of machine learning algorithms.

First of all, coding skills:

I came across many courses and coding tutorial sites but the one that caught my attention was “100 days of code: The complete python pro boot camp by Dr. Angela Yu. I really needed a big motivation and something that won’t be boring quickly. The course is based on projects, 100 days - 100 projects this sounds great!

This will:

  • Help you practice what you learn
  • build a portfolio
  • most important gives you an incredible feeling when you complete a project no matter what's the difficulty
  • build up your confidence

I went through the whole curriculum and as you go from intermediate level to advance the number of videos starts to decrease till almost no video tutorial. However, the point is you're not going to depend always on someone explaining to you the code or concept step by step on video. At some point, we’ll be on our own, but we got google and a whole community that will support what we do. Also, the course is full of resources that will help you through the journey.

Anyways, I’m still doing my first steps and I’ve reached day 7 which is really satisfying after a long time away from coding.